NAB Logo
August 23, 2023

Diane Sutter to Receive National Radio Award

Award honors outstanding leadership in the radio industry

Award presentation to take place at NAB Show New York during Marconi Radio Awards

Diane Sutter
Diane Sutter

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- ShootingStar Broadcasting President and CEO Diane Sutter will receive the 2023 National Radio Award from the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB). The award will be presented at NAB Show New York during the 2023 Marconi Radio Awards Dinner on October 25.

Sutter is the founder and dean of the NAB Leadership Foundation’s (NABLF) Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) program. Now in its 24th year, BLT is a 10-month MBA-style course designed to teach aspiring broadcast owners and senior-level executives – particularly women and people of color – the fundamentals of purchasing, owning and running successful radio and television stations.

"Diane exemplifies the commitment to service that lies at the heart of broadcasting," said NAB President and CEO Curtis LeGeyt. "Her mission to open doors for aspiring station owners, help people reach their full potential and promote purpose-driven operations has propelled our industry to new heights and prepared broadcasters for tomorrow’s challenges. We are thrilled to present Diane with this award in recognition of her work to foster and inspire the talent within our broadcasting community."

Since BLT's inception, nearly 400 broadcasters have graduated from NABLF’s flagship program and over 70 percent have been promoted one or more times since graduating. In addition, 59 graduates have owned or currently own broadcast stations, and 10 BLT graduates currently serve on the NAB Board of Directors.

As president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting, Sutter provides broadcasters, media companies and financial institutions with operational and consulting services, including working with organizations to implement conscious capitalism and purpose into their culture. A Gallup-Certified Strengths Coach, Sutter conducts management training and development to help organizations maximize engagement, performance and profit.

"Diane's commitment to creating pathways of opportunity for broadcasters stems from her infectious belief that doing good creates organization-wide success and allows employees to do their best," said NABLF President Michelle Duke. "It has been a privilege to work alongside Diane to recruit and train the next generation of broadcast leaders that reflects the many voices of the communities we serve. I congratulate my friend on this well-deserved honor."

ShootingStar Broadcasting previously owned KTAB-TV (Abilene, Texas) and WZMY-TV (Boston, Mass.), and Sutter has served in a number of director-level positions for broadcast companies. Sutter is currently on the board of directors for Times-Shamrock Communications, and served on the board of directors for JW Broadcasting and the advisory boards for Media Vista Broadcasting and Futuri Media. She previously worked in general management, sales and news at radio and television stations, including overseeing operations of three television stations as president of Shamrock Television.

Sutter's current philanthropic endeavors include serving as a member of the advisory board for the Multicultural Media, Telecom and Internet Council (MMTC) and chairing the Board of Visitors for Allegheny College. In addition, she is a member of the Senior Leadership Network for Conscious Capitalism, Inc. and serves on the All-Star for Kids Council of the Children's Hospital of Los Angeles.

Previously, Sutter served as the chair of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment, as well as national president for the Alliance of Women in Media (AWM) and a member of its board. She also served on the Dean’s Advisory Council for the American University School of Communications.

Sutter was presented at the 2009 NAB Show with NAB’s Leadership Award. Other honors include the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award from MMTC, the Mentoring and Inspiring Women’s 2014 Trailblazer Award, the 2017 Ward Quall Leadership Award from the Broadcasters Foundation of America and AWM’s National Achievement Award.

Registration information for the Marconi Radio Awards is available here.

Press registration for NAB Show New York is available here.

About NAB Show New York

NAB Show New York is the most efficient and diverse event experience on the East Coast for the broadcast, media and entertainment industry, held October 24-26 (Exhibits October 25-26) at the Javits Center. Produced by the National Association of Broadcasters and again co-located with the AES New York 2023 Convention, NAB Show New York is the premier event for content economy professionals to reconnect, reevaluate and rediscover ways to get more creative with new-to-market tech and existing tools through exhibits, conferences and networking events. Learn more at

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us