NAB Logo
April 5, 2023

NAB Applauds Bipartisan Senate Letter to FCC on NEXTGEN TV

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- A bipartisan group of 27 U.S. senators, led by Sens. Brian Schatz (D-HI) and Todd Young (R-IN), sent a letter today to Federal Communications Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel urging the Commission to take an active role in expediting the continued rollout of the Next Generation TV standard, also known as ATSC 3.0. With over 60% of Americans in range of a Next Gen TV signal, the senators note that, “a successful ATSC 3.0 transition should be a priority of the FCC going forward to ensure that local broadcasters can continue to best serve their communities as a trusted source of local news.”

The letter continues, in part:

“Just as the FCC has successfully championed other innovative technologies like 5G, Wi-Fi, and the 2009 digital TV transition, we believe there is an essential role for the FCC in helping broadcasters and viewers fully realize the potential of Next Gen TV. We urge the FCC to take an active role in addressing the complex – but imminently solvable – questions posed by the transition from ATSC 1.0 to 3.0, including working with Congress, public broadcasters, and industry to ensure consumers with legacy TVs are not harmed by any changes.”

“Local broadcasters thank Sens. Schatz, Young and their colleagues for encouraging the FCC to use their platform to make the transition to ATSC 3.0 a reality for viewers across the country,” said NAB President and CEO Curtis LeGeyt. “NAB is proud of the progress broadcasters have made transitioning to Next Gen TV, especially given spectrum constraints and the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, but the FCC’s championing of ATSC 3.0 is critical to ensure a successful transition to this groundbreaking technology. We thank these local broadcast advocates in the Senate for ensuring all Americans have access to quality local news, information and entertainment.”

In addition to Senators Young and Schatz, Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), and John Hoeven (R-N.D.) also joined the letter.

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us