NAB Logo
June 6, 2012

NAB Education Foundation Presents 14th Annual Celebration of Service to America Awards

Multiple award-winning actress Glenn Close to receive prestigious Leadership Award

Award presenters include FCC Commissioner Robert McDowell and Congressman Ruben Hinojosa

WASHINGTON, DC -- The 14th annual Celebration of Service to America Awards, produced by the NAB Education Foundation (NABEF), will take place Monday, June 11, at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. The dinner and awards presentation will recognize the exceptional public service contributions of radio and television broadcasters and will include the presentation of NABEF's highest honor, the Service to America Leadership Award, recognizing individuals and organizations that have improved the lives of others through extraordinary public service.

The 2012 Service to America gala will feature:

The presentation of the Service to America Television Award, Service to Children Awards and Service to Community Awards, honoring local broadcasters for their outstanding commitment to community service. The winning broadcasters are:

  • KRGV-TV Weslaco, TX (Service to America Television Award)
  • WBHJ-FM Birmingham, AL (Service to Children Radio Award)
  • Griffin Communications Oklahoma City, OK (Service to Children Television Award)
  • WBLS-FM New York, NY (Service to Community Radio Award)
  • Belo Corp. (Service to Community Television Award)
The presentation of the Service to America Leadership Award, recognizing Glenn Close for her dedication to ending the stigma surrounding mental illness.

NABEF's Corporate Leadership Award, acknowledging State Farm for its support for a number of causes that save lives, improve schools and strengthen communities.

The NABEF President's Special Award, recognizing Univision Communications Inc. for the company's comprehensive, multi-platform, national education initiative aimed at improving academic achievement among K-12 Hispanic students.

Deborah Norville, host of the nation's top-rated syndicated newsmagazine "Inside Edition," will serve as master of ceremonies.

Press announcements to date include:

Press interested in covering the Celebration of Service to America Awards should contact Ann Marie Cumming at 202-429-5307.

Walter E. Washington Convention Center
801 Mt Vernon Pl NW
Washington, D.C. 20001

Monday, June 11, 2012
Reception: 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Dinner and awards presentation: 7:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

About The Celebration of Service to America Awards
The Celebration of Service to America Awards are sponsored and produced by NABEF with major support from Hubbard Broadcasting Inc., Bonneville International Corporation and the National Association of Broadcasters. In recent years, Academy Award-winning actor Jeff Bridges, entertainment industry icon Quincy Jones, legendary rock star Sir Elton John, President Bill Clinton, First Lady Laura Bush, Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan, New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani, boxing legend Muhammad Ali, President Jimmy Carter and First Lady Rosalyn Carter, First Lady Nancy Reagan, and others have been presented with the Celebration of Service to America Leadership Award at the event. Details about the Celebration of Service to America Awards are available here.

The NAB Education Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to reinforcing the future of broadcasting through a commitment to education and to advancing excellence in the diversity and community service efforts of our industry.Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us