NAB Logo
July 11, 2011

Franklin Schurz to Receive Chuck Sherman Television Leadership Award

WASHINGTON, DC -- NAB will honor Schurz Communications, Inc. Chairman of the Board Franklin Schurz with the Chuck Sherman Television Leadership Award at the NAB Small Market Television Exchange, held September 22-24 in Austin, Texas.

"Frank Schurz's dedication to quality journalism has earned the respect of broadcasters across the country who are committed to keeping their communities informed," said NAB Executive Vice President of Television Marcellus Alexander. "We are proud to recognize Frank for the positive impact he has made in the broadcast industry and in cities served by Schurz Communications."

Schurz Communications' media holdings include 10 television stations, 13 radio stations, as well as cable properties. The company also publishes 11 daily and eight weekly newspapers with a combined circulation of nearly 225,000. Geographically, Schurz Communications has a presence in Alaska, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Pennsylvania, South Dakota and Virginia.

Frank Schurz retired as chief executive officer of Schurz Communications in 2007 and remains chairman of the board. He is past president of WDBJ Television, Inc. Roanoke, Virginia; WAGT Television, Inc. Augusta, Georgia; KY3, Inc. Springfield, Missouri; and WASK, Inc. Lafayette, Indiana. He has been an Honorary Trustee of the American Women in Radio and Television Foundation, and also served on the boards for C-Span and MSTV.

Schurz, a recipient of the Presidential Award of Merit from the National Newspaper Association, was editor and publisher of the South Bend Tribune in Indiana, as well as the Morning Herald and Daily Mail in Hagerstown, Maryland. During his 26-year newspaper career, he served as president of multiple press associations and organizations, including the Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association, and the Institute of Newspaper Controllers and Finance Officers, and also served on the board of the Inland Press Association. A member of the American Society of Newspaper Editors, the Society of Professional Journalists and the National Press Club, Schurz also chaired the AP audit committee and committees of the American Newspaper Publishers Association.

The Chuck Sherman Leadership Award, created in 2003, is named in honor of the late Dr. Charles E. Sherman to recognize an individual demonstrating leadership, service and commitment to local television in smaller markets. Click here for more information about the Chuck Sherman Award and previous recipients.

About NAB Small Market Television Exchange
The Small Market Television Exchange, now in its 25th year, is the only national meeting devoted exclusively to television stations in demographic market areas #75 and above. The Exchange focuses on innovative strategies to attract emerging and non-traditional advertisers and suggestions to enhance the station's position in the local marketplace. Click here for more information about the Exchange.

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us