NAB Logo
May 26, 2011

Steve Newberry to Receive National Radio Award

WASHINGTON, D.C./NEW YORK -- Steve Newberry, president and chief executive officer (CEO) of Commonwealth Broadcasting Corporation, will receive the National Radio Award during the Radio Show Luncheon held Friday, September 16. The luncheon will take place during the 2011 Radio Show, jointly produced by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB), September 14 - 16 in Chicago.

"For over 25 years as an owner and operator, Steve Newberry's enthusiasm for radio and exemplary leadership abilities have been acknowledged and respected by radio executives nationwide," said NAB Executive Vice President of Radio John David. "We welcome Steve as the latest recipient of the National Radio Award, and look forward to honoring him for his dedication to the Radio profession."

Newberry has held leadership positions in broadcasting that range from chairman of the Authority for Kentucky Educational Television (KET) to his current position as president and CEO of Commonwealth Broadcasting Corporation. In this capacity, Newberry oversees 22 radio stations with facilities throughout Kentucky. Additionally, Newberry serves as joint board chairman of the NAB, and is a member of the board of directors and executive committees for RAB. Previously Newberry was president of the Kentucky Broadcasters Association (KBA), and in 2009 was the recipient of the KBA's prestigious Distinguished Kentuckian Award.

In addition to his broadcast activities, Newberry is a member of the board of directors of Citizens First Bank. He served as executive director of the Glasgow-Barren County Industrial Development Economic Authority (IDEA), and for many years chaired that organization. He also served as president of the Glasgow Rotary Club, twice chaired the local United Way campaign and was a member of the board of directors of the Glasgow-Barren County Boys and Girls Club.

Each year the National Radio Award honors an individual who is an outstanding leader in the radio industry. Previous National Radio Award recipients include Charles Warfield, Ed Christian, Bruce Reese, Jerry Lee, David Kennedy, John Dille, Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Bill Stakelin, and Erica Farber, among others.

About the Radio Show
The 2011 Radio Show, produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB) and the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), will be held September 14-16 in Chicago. This year's show brings radio broadcasters and industry colleagues together to share knowledge, discover the latest innovations, network with industry leaders and explore creative business strategies to help radio flourish in the digital age. To learn more about the 2011 Radio Show, visit

News media interested in covering the Radio Show should contact Shauna Jones at 202-429-5350.

About RAB
The Radio Advertising Bureau serves more than 6,000 member Radio stations in the U.S. and over 1,000 member networks, representative firms, broadcast vendors, and international organizations. RAB leads and participates in educational, research, sales, and advocacy programs that promote and advance Radio as a primary advertising medium. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us