NAB Logo
May 17, 2021

25 Representatives, Six Senators Join as Local Radio Freedom Act Cosponsors

WASHINGTON, DC -- Twenty-five members of the House of Representatives and six Senators have added their support to a resolution opposing "any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge" on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA), which signals members of Congress's opposition to any potential legislation that imposes new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 112 cosponsors in the House and 14 in the Senate.

Adding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. Ken Calvert (R-CA-42), Jerry Carl (R-AL-1), Joe Courtney (D-CT-2), Henry Cueller (D-TX-28), Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8), Sam Graves (R-MO-6), Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH-16), Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR-AL), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ-5), Brett Guthrie (R-KY-2), Dusty Johnson (R-SD-AL), Mike Johnson (R-LA-4), Bill Keating (D-MA-9), Doug Lamborn (R-CO-5), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO-3), Elaine Luria (D-VA-2), Ralph Norman (R-SC-5), Scott Perry (R-PA-10), Mike Rogers (R-AL-3), Brad Schneider (D-IL-10), Pete Stauber (R-MN-8), Claudia Tenney (R-NY-22), Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15), William Timmons (R-SC-4) and Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2).

Adding their support for the resolution in the Senate are Sens. John Boozman (R-AR), Susan Collins (R-ME), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS) and Todd Young (R-IN).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Steve Womack (R-AR-3) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives. Sens. Martin Heinrich (D-NM) and John Barrasso (R-WY) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate.

"Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over the air, or on any business for the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station broadcast over the air," reads the Local Radio Freedom Act.

The 112 House cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act include (new cosponsors in bold):

Rick Allen (R-GA-12)
Mark Amodei (R-NV-2)
Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
Brian Babin (R-TX-36)
Don Bacon (R-NE-2)
Troy Balderson (R-OH-12)
Jim Banks (R-IN-3)
Joyce Beatty (D-OH-3)
Gus Bilirakis (R-FL-12)
Mike Bost (R-IL-12)
Brendan Boyle (D-PA-2)
Mo Brooks (R-AL-5)
Anthony Brown (D-MD-4)
Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)
Ken Calvert (R-CA-42)
Jerry Carl (R-AL-1)
Andre Carson (D-IN-7)
Buddy Carter (R-GA-1)
Kathy Castor (D-FL-14)
Steve Chabot (R-OH-1)
Tom Cole (R-OK-4)
James Comer (R-KY-1)
Jim Costa (D-CA-16)
Joe Courtney (D-CT-2)
Rick Crawford (R-AR-1)
Henry Cueller (D-TX-28)
Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)
Debbie Dingell (D-MI-12)
Tom Emmer (R-MN-6)
Dwight Evans (D-PA-3)
Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1)
Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE-1)
Virginia Foxx (R-NC-5)
Scott Franklin (R-FL-15)
Mike Gallagher (R-WI-8)
Mike Garcia (R-CA-25)
Bob Gibbs (R-OH-7)
Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH-16)
Vincente Gonzalez (D-TX-15)
Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR-AL)
Paul Gosar (R-AZ-4)
Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ-5)
Kay Granger (R-TX-12)
Sam Graves (R-MO-6)
Glenn Grothman (R-WI-6)
Brett Guthrie (R-KY-2)
Jim Hagedorn (R-MN-1)
French Hill (R-AR-2)
Trey Hollingsworth (R-IN-9)
Richard Hudson (R-NC-8)
Bill Johnson (R-OH-6)
Dusty Johnson (R-SD-AL)
Mike Johnson (R-LA-4)
Jim Jordan (R-OH-4)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH-9)
Bill Keating (D-MA-9)
Fred Keller (R-PA-12)
Mike Kelly (R-PA-16)
Andy Kim (D-NJ-3)
Ron Kind (D-WI-3)
Adam Kinzinger (R-IL-16)
Annie Kuster (D-NH-2)
Doug Lamborn (R-CO-5)
Bob Latta (R-OH-5)
Al Lawson (D-FL-5)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO-3)
Elaine Luria (D-VA-2)
Stephen Lynch (D-MA-8)
Tom Malinowski (D-NJ-7)
Thomas Massie (R-KY-4)
Patrick McHenry (R-NC-10)
Dan Meuser (R-PA-9)
Seth Moulton (D-MA-6)
Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-2)
Greg Murphy (R-NC-3)
Ralph Norman (R-SC-5)
Devin Nunes (R-CA-22)
Steven Palazzo (R-MS-4)
Chris Pappas (D-NH-1)
Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ-10)
Greg Pence (R-IN-6)
Scott Perry (R-PA-10)
Dean Phillips (D-MN-3)
Bill Posey (R-FL-8)
Hal Rogers (R-KY-5)
Mike Rogers (R-AL-3)
David Rouzer (R-NC-7)
Bobby Rush (D-IL-1)
Gregorio Sablan (D-MP-AL)
Brad Schneider (D-IL-10)
Kurt Schrader (D-OR-5)
David Scott (D-GA-13)
Mike Simpson (R-ID-2)
Pete Stauber (R-MN-8)
Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21)
Van Taylor (R-TX-3)
Claudia Tenney (R-NY-22)
Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15)
Tom Tiffany (R-WI-7)
William Timmons (R-SC-4)
Michael Turner (R-OH-10)
Fred Upton (R-MI-6)
Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ-2)
Filemon Vela (D-TX-34)
Tim Walberg (R-MI-7)
Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2)
Bruce Westerman (R-AR-4)
Joe Wilson (R-SC-2)
Rob Wittman (R-VA-1)
Steve Womack (R-AR-3)
Don Young (R-AK-AL)
Lee Zeldin (R-NY-1)

The Local Radio Freedom Act's 14 Senate cosponsors are (new cosponsors in bold):

John Barrasso (R-WY)
John Boozman (R-AR)
Susan Collins (R-ME)
Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Steve Daines (R-MT)
Joni Ernst (R-IA)
Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)
Roger Marshall (R-KS)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Jon Tester (D-MT)
Todd Young (R-IN)

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us