NAB Logo
March 19, 2013
Dennis Wharton
follow me

More Than 100 Members of Congress Oppose Performance Tax on Local Radio

WASHINGTON, DC -- Two more U.S. Senators and a bipartisan group of over two dozen additional House Members now oppose "any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge" on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act is now currently co-sponsored by 105 Members of the House and four Senators.

Since the introduction of the Local Radio Freedom Act, 32 Democratic and Republican House Members have joined the bipartisan coalition of the resolution's 73 original cosponsors in opposing any new fees on local radio stations for music airplay. Sens. James Inhofe (R-OK) and Pat Roberts (R-KS) are the latest lawmakers to sign onto its companion resolution in the Senate.

"Local radio stations continue to provide record labels and artists an unparalleled platform to promote music," said National Association of Broadcasters Executive Vice President of Communications Dennis Wharton. "NAB is pleased so many lawmakers appreciate this partnership and stand opposed to any onerous new fees that would threaten the economic future of America's hometown radio stations."

Reps. Michael Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX) introduced the Local Radio Freedom Act (H. Con. Res. 16) in the House of Representatives on February 15 along with 71 additional co-sponsors. An identical resolution (S. Con. Res. 6) was introduced in the Senate on March 6 by Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).

According to the Local Radio Freedom Act, "Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings."

Since the introduction of the resolutions, Clear Channel and independent record label Entertainment One have entered into an agreement to permit radio stations to pay sound-recording performance royalties in exchange for lowered digital performance fees. The deal is similar to other private-market deals struck in recent months between broadcasters and record labels without the need for government intervention. Examples of such agreements are those between Clear Channel and RPM Entertainment, Entercom and Glassnote Entertainment Group, and Beasley Broadcasting and Big Machine Label Group.

The 104 House cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act include (new co-sponsors in bold):

Rodney Alexander (LA-5)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Dan Benishek (MI-1)

Jo Bonner (AL-1)
Charles Boustany (LA-3)
G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)
Ken Calvert (CA-42)
Shelley Moore Capito (WV-2)
Mike Capuano (MA-7)
John Carney (DE-AL)
Bill Cassidy (LA-6)
Mike Coffman (CO-6)
Tom Cole (OK-4)
Michael Conaway (TX-11)
Joseph Courtney (CT-2)
Ander Crenshaw (FL-4)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Charles Dent (PA-15)
Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
John Dingell (MI-12)
John Duncan (TN-2)
Renee Ellmers (NC-2)
Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-8)
John Fleming (LA-4)
Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
Cory Gardner (CO-4)
Phil Gingrey (GA-11)
Paul Gosar (AZ-4)
Kay Granger (TX-12)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Brett Guthrie (KY-2)
Gregg Harper (MS-3)
Vicky Hartzler (MO-4)

Alcee Hastings (FL-23)
Doc Hastings (WA-4)
Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)
Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)
Randy Hultgren (IL-14)
Bill Johnson (OH-6)
David Joyce (OH-14)
Ron Kind (WI-3)
Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
John Kline (MN-2)
Doug Lamborn (CO-5)
Leonard Lance (NJ-7)
Robert Latta (OH-5)
Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2)
Dave Loebsack (IA-2)
Billy Long (MO-7)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9)
Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL)
Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Thomas Massie (KY-4)
Jim Matheson (UT-4)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-4)
Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
Patrick Meehan (PA-7)
Gregory Meeks (NY-5)
Michael Michaud (ME-2)
Jeff Miller (FL-1)
Markwayne Mullin (OK-2)
Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
Kristi Noem (SD-AL)
Alan Nunnelee (MS-1)
Pete Olson (TX-22)
Bill Owens (NY-21)
Steve Pearce (NM-2)
Tom Petri (WI-6)

Ted Poe (TX-2)
Mike Pompeo (KS-4)
Bill Posey (FL-8)
Charles Rangel (NY-13)
Scott Rigell (VA-2)
Harold Rogers (KY-5)
Mike Rogers (AL-3)
Mike Rogers (MI-8)
Todd Rokita (IN-4)
Peter Roskam (IL-6)
Edward Royce (CA-39)
Jon Runyan (NJ-3)
Tim Ryan (OH-13)
John Sarbanes (MD-3)
Aaron Schock (IL-18)
Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)
David Schweikert (AZ-6)
Pete Sessions (TX-32)
John Shimkus (IL-15)
Mike Simpson (ID-2)
Christopher Smith (NJ-4)
Steve Stivers (OH-15)
Lee Terry (NE-2)
Glenn Thompson (PA-5)
Pat Tiberi (OH-12)
Mike Turner (OH-10)
Peter Visclosky (IN-1)
Ann Wagner (MO-2)
Tim Walberg (MI-7)
Greg Walden (OR-2)
Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)
Joe Wilson (SC-2)
Rob Wittman (VA-1)
Steve Womack (AR-3)
Don Young (AK-AL)

The Local Radio Freedom Act's four Senate cosponsors are (new co-sponsors in bold):

John Barrasso (R-WY)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

James Inhofe (R-OK)
Pat Roberts (R-KS)

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us