NAB Logo
March 12, 2024

Majority of House of Representatives Show Strong Support of Local Radio

WASHINGTON, D.C. – A bipartisan majority of the United States House of Representatives now supports the Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA). The LRFA, which signals members of Congress' opposition to imposing new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay, now has 225 cosponsors in the House. There are 24 cosponsors in the Senate.

“This milestone demonstrates policymakers’ recognition of the vital service that free, local radio provides to their constituents: a lifeline in times of crisis and a connection to the community that cannot be replicated,” said NAB President and CEO Curtis LeGeyt. “We thank these 225 members of the House for their unwavering support, helping to safeguard the future of local broadcasting and our commitment to serving the public."

Last week, over 550 broadcasters from across the country gathered in Washington, D.C., to meet with their lawmakers to discuss Broadcasters’ Policy Agenda for the remainder of the 118th Congress including the Local Radio Freedom Act.

Reps. Steve Womack (AR-3) and Kathy Castor (FL-14) are the lead cosponsors of the LRFA in the House. Sens. Maggie Hassan (NH) and John Barrasso (WY) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate.

The full list of House cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act can be found here.

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us