NAB Logo
April 21, 2022

NAB Leadership Foundation Announces Finalists for 23rd Annual Celebration of Service to America Awards

Award winners announced live during in-person ceremony on June 7 in Washington D.C.

WASHINGTON, DC -- The National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation (NABLF) today announced the finalists for the 2022 Celebration of Service to America Awards, which recognize local broadcasters’ outstanding service to their communities. Category winners will be announced live at the awards ceremony, which will return as an in-person event on June 7, 2022.

Finalists, celebrity guests, senior broadcast executives, members of Congress and policymakers will gather at The Anthem in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday, June 7 for the in-person, black-tie Celebration of Service to America Awards ceremony. A special one-hour production of the awards ceremony will once again be broadcast nationally on television and radio stations across the country in summer 2022.

The Celebration of Service to America Awards, presented by Bonneville International and Hearst Television, honors the impact and excellence in community service and philanthropy by local radio and television stations across the country.

The event also recognizes an individual for their exceptional commitment to improving the lives of others through the Service to America Leadership Award. A Corporate Leadership Award will be given to a non-broadcast business for its extraordinary focus on community service and corporate responsibility.

“As valued members of their local communities, television and radio stations offer critical support to those in need, shine a light on the issues affecting their friends and neighbors and help get us through difficult times,” said NAB Leadership Foundation President Michelle Duke. “We look forward to coming together once again to honor these outstanding stations for embodying the spirit of broadcasting, and to celebrate broadcasters everywhere who serve their communities every day.”

Following is the list of honorees by category in alphabetical order:

Service to Community Award for Radio, Broadcast Ownership Group

  • Beasley Media Group, 2021 Beasley Best Community of Caring Initiative

    Service to Community Award for Television, Broadcast Ownership Group

  • Cox Media Group, CMG Gets Real
  • Hearst Television Inc., Project CommUNITY: History & Hope
  • Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc., Sinclair Cares: Supporting All Veterans

    Service to Community Award for Radio, Large/Major Market

  • WSB-AM, Atlanta, Ga., Cox Media Group, 95.5 WSB Care-a-Thon
  • WTLC-FM, Indianapolis, Ind., Urban One, Inc., Feeding Families for 365 Days Plus 
  • WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C., Hubbard Broadcasting, WTOP D.C. DFS Investigation

    Service to Community Award for Television – Large/Major Market

  • KYW-TV, Philadelphia, Pa., CBS Television Stations, CBS3 Small Wins! Grant Program
  • WFAA, Dallas, Texas, TEGNA, WFAA Adoption Awareness
  • WLKY-TV, Louisville, Ky., Hearst Television Stations, WLKY MAP Grants

    Service to Community Award for Radio – Medium Market

  • KRMG-FM, Cox Media Group, Tulsa, Okla., Big Spring Clean
  • WHKO-FM, Cox Media Group, Dayton, Ohio, K99.1 FM Cares for Kids Radiothon
  • WJBR-FM, Beasley Media Group, Wilmington, DE, Mix 99.5 WJBR Help Our Kids Radiothon

    Service to Community Award for Television – Medium Market

  • WIS-TV, Gray Television, Columbia, S.C., Families Helping Families
  • WMTV-TV, Gray Television, Madison, Wisc., WMTV Diaper Drive Success
  • WTOC-TV, Gray Television, CBS Television Stations, Savannah, Ga., WTOC Tells Smart Women’s Stories 

    Service to Community Award for Radio – Small Market

  • KTXY-FM, Zimmer Radio of Mid-Missouri, Columbia, Mo., Miracle for Kids Radiothon
  • WNRP-AM, WYCT, WNRP, WEBY Radio, Pensacola, Fla., Next Level Covid Charts  

    Service to Community Award for Television – Small Market

  • KWQC-TV, Gray Television, Davenport, Iowa, TV6 Real Conversations
  • KOBI-TV, California Oregon Broadcasting, Medford, Ore., In this Together
  • WBNG-TV, Gray Television, Johnson City, N.Y., Southern Tier Tuesdays

    For more information about the awards and event, visit

    About NAB Foundation

    The National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation (formerly the NAB Education Foundation) rebranded in 2018 in recognition of its role in developing broadcasting’s future leaders. The Foundation is dedicated to advancing the industry through leadership, diversity and community service. Learn more at

    About NAB

    The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

  • National Association of Broadcasters
    1 M Street SE
    Washington, D.C. 20003
    202 429 5300 |

    © 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
    Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

    Connect With Us