NAB Logo
January 4, 2019

PILOT Awards First Round of Media Technology and Innovation Scholarships

-- NAB’s innovation initiative will provide nine undergraduate and graduate students with media technology scholarships --

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- PILOT, an innovation initiative of the National Association of Broadcasters, has announced the winners of its first media technology and innovation scholarships. The awards, valued at $5,000 each, will be presented to nine undergraduate and graduate students, for pursuit of studies related to broadcast engineering, media technology and innovation. The scholarships are administered in partnership with the Broadcast Education Association (BEA).

The winners (and the schools to which they plan to apply their scholarships) are as follows:

  • Rebecca Berth- Minnesota State University Moorhead
  • Kelsey Bruce - University of Alabama
  • Seena Greiwe - Ball State University
  • Fiona Jackline Kemigisa - New York University
  • Louvins Pierre - University of Connecticut
  • Mario Rios - New York University
  • Emily Rosato - Ithaca College
  • Tonia Vu - University of Texas at Arlington
  • Randy Woods - Florida State University

Eligible academic areas for scholarship applicants included broadcast television or radio engineering and technology, broadcast content creation including sports and news production, web and online media, mobile media, media-related information technology (IT), multi-platform audience measurement and media technology research.

NAB Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Sam Matheny said, “We were thrilled at the quantity and quality of responses to this first offering of scholarships by PILOT, and we’re very happy to present these funds to assist the identified students in pursuit of their careers on the technical side of the broadcast and media arts. It is also a great advantage to work with BEA on this program, given their long-established connections with broadcast education in the academic world.”

BEA Executive Director Heather Birks added, “PILOT continues to be extraordinarily dedicated to cultivating the future of the broadcast industry. It’s an honor to partner with them to recognize and reward the innovative futures of these nine students.”

For additional information, visit

PILOT is a coalition of innovators, educators and advocates dedicated to advancing broadcast technology and cultivating new media opportunities. PILOT propels broadcast television and radio into the future. It provides a platform for innovation, an engine for incubation, a venue for testing new technologies and a forum for broadcaster education. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

About About the Broadcast Education Association
The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) is the premiere international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals. There are currently more than 2,500 individual and institutional members worldwide. Visit for more information.

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us