NAB Logo
September 7, 2017

2017 NAB Marconi Radio Award Winners Announced

AUSTIN-- Winners of the 2017 National Association of Broadcasters' (NAB) Marconi Radio Awards were announced Thursday night at the 28th annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show, sponsored by Xperi and held at the Radio Show in Austin.

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

This year's NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients are:

Legendary Station of the Year
WCBS-AM, New York, NY

AC Station of the Year
WBEB-FM, Philadelphia, PA

Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year
Rickey Smiley, Reach Media Inc.

CHR Station of the Year
KRBE-FM, Houston, TX

Major Market Personality of the Year
Funkmaster Flex, WQHT-FM, New York, NY

Classic Hits Station of the Year
WPBG-FM, Peoria, IL

Large Market Personality of the Year
Linda Lee, WYCD-FM, Detroit, MI

Country Station of the Year
KPLX-FM, Dallas, TX

Medium Market Personality of the Year
Steve McIntosh & Ted Woodward, KNSS-FM, Wichita, KS

News/Talk Station of the Year
WDBO-FM, Orlando, FL

Small Market Personality of the Year
Ken Thomas, WJJY-FM, Brainerd, MN

Non-commercial Station of the Year
WRHU-FM, Hempstead, NY

Major Market Station of the Year
WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.

Religious Station of the Year
WLIB-AM, New York, NY

Large Market Station of the Year
WKRQ-FM, Cincinnati, OH

Rock Station of the Year
KSHE-FM, St. Louis, MO

Medium Market Station of the Year
KRMG-FM, Tulsa, OK

Sports Station of the Year
KTCK-FM, Dallas, TX

Small Market Station of the Year
KNDE-FM, College Station, TX

Urban Station of the Year
WHQT-FM, Miami, FL

Marconi finalists were selected by a task force of broadcasters, and the winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The votes were tabulated by an independent firm.

The NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show also featured a performance by Grammy Award-winning country music band Asleep at the Wheel. Top-rated syndicated radio personality Rickey Smiley served as the eventís emcee.

Additional information about the 2017 Radio Show is available here.

About the Radio Show
The 2017 Radio Show, produced by the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) and the Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB), will be held September 5-8 in Austin. This year's show brings radio broadcasters and industry colleagues together to share knowledge, discover the latest innovations, network with industry leaders and explore creative business strategies for the digital age. To learn more about the 2017 Radio Show, visit

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us