NAB Logo
September 9, 2013

NAB Education Foundation Announces the 2014 Broadcast Leadership Training Class

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The NAB Education Foundation (NABEF) announced today the new members of the 2014 Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) program. This year's student roster can be found here.

Now in its fourteenth year, the ten-month, MBA-style program teaches the fundamentals of purchasing, owning and operating radio and television stations to senior level broadcast executives who aspire to advance as group executives or station owners. To encourage diversity in broadcasting, NABEF offers fellowship opportunities to women and people of color.

Currently, a number of BLT graduates are in varying stages of station acquisition. Of the 220 graduates, 34 currently own or have owned stations, and more than 90 have moved to more senior level positions or to larger markets.

The BLT program comprises weekend sessions held once a month for ten months at NAB's headquarters. Students will have the opportunity to network with session instructors, including broadcasters, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) staff, communications attorneys and members of the banking community and academic faculty, while learning how to apply the skills taught in the program to real-world situations.

"Once again we have a stellar group of broadcast executives who are part of the 2013-14 BLT Program and are seeking to become owners or 'C' level executives inside their organizations," said Diane Sutter, founder, president and CEO of ShootingStar Broadcasting and BLT program dean. "We continue to have great support from broadcast industry sponsors to make this program available to radio and TV senior managers, especially women and minorities who receive fellowships."

NABEF and Sutter have tapped industry experts to serve as associate deans of the program. The 2014 associate deans are Trila Bumstead, owner, Ohana Media Group; Anita Stephens-Graham, co-founder and managing director, Graham and Associates; Marc Jaromin, president, Mojo Brands Media, LLC.; DuJuan McCoy, president and CEO, Bayou City Broadcasting; and Jeanette Tully, CEO, Aloha Station Trust.

Sponsors of the BLT program include NAB, Bayou City Broadcasting, Cox Media Group, Legend Communications, Listener Driven Radio/Top Line Matters, Morgan Murphy Media, The Nielsen Company, Quincy, Raycom Media, Schurz Communications, WAGM-TV and Univision. For additional program information, click here.

The NAB Education Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to reinforcing the future of broadcasting through a commitment to education and to advancing excellence in the diversity and community service efforts of our industry. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us