NAB Logo
April 10, 2013
Dennis Wharton
follow me

10 More Members of Congress Sign Onto Resolution Opposing Performance Tax on Local Radio

WASHINGTON, DC -- A bipartisan group of nine additional House Members and another Senator have signed onto a resolution that opposes "any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge" on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act is now currently co-sponsored by 118 Members of the House and nine Senators.

Adding their support to the Local Radio Freedom Act are Reps. Ron Barber (AZ-2), Jeff Duncan (SC-3), Sam Graves (MO-6), Peter King (NY-2), Devin Nunes (CA-22), Steven Palazzo (MS-4), Joe Pitts (PA-16), Reid Ribble (WI-8) and Paul Ryan (WI-1). Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT) is the latest lawmaker to sign onto its companion resolution in the Senate.

Reps. Michael Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX) introduced the Local Radio Freedom Act (H. Con. Res. 16) in the House of Representatives on February 15 along with 71 additional co-sponsors. An identical resolution (S. Con. Res. 6) was introduced in the Senate on March 6 by Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).

" Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings," reads the Local Radio Freedom Act.

This week, Clear Channel and independent record label Wind-Up Records entered into an agreement to permit radio stations to pay sound-recording performance royalties in exchange for lowered digital performance fees. The deal is similar to other private-market deals struck in recent months between broadcasters and record labels without the need for government intervention. Examples of such agreements are those between Clear Channel and RPM Entertainment, Entercom and Glassnote Entertainment Group, and Beasley Broadcasting and Big Machine Label Group.

The 118 House cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act include (new co-sponsors in bold):

Rodney Alexander (LA-5)
Ron Barber (AZ-2)
John Barrow (GA-12)
Dan Benishek (MI-1)
Jo Bonner (AL-1)
Charles Boustany (LA-3)
G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)
Ken Calvert (CA-42)
Shelley Moore Capito (WV-2)
Mike Capuano (MA-7)
John Carney (DE-AL)
Bill Cassidy (LA-6)
Mike Coffman (CO-6)
Tom Cole (OK-4)
Michael Conaway (TX-11)
Joseph Courtney (CT-2)
Ander Crenshaw (FL-4)
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Rodney Davis (IL-13)
Charles Dent (PA-15)
Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
John Dingell (MI-12)
Jeff Duncan (SC-3)
John Duncan (TN-2)
Renee Ellmers (NC-2)
Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-8)
John Fleming (LA-4)
Bill Flores (TX-17)
Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
Cory Gardner (CO-4)
Phil Gingrey (GA-11)
Paul Gosar (AZ-4)
Kay Granger (TX-12)
Sam Graves (MO-6)
Gene Green (TX-29)
Brett Guthrie (KY-2)
Gregg Harper (MS-3)
Vicky Hartzler (MO-4)
Alcee Hastings (FL-23)

Doc Hastings (WA-4)
Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)
Richard Hudson (NC-8)
Tim Huelskamp (KS-1)
Randy Hultgren (IL-14)
Bill Johnson (OH-6)
David Joyce (OH-14)
Ron Kind (WI-3)
Peter King (NY-2)
Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
John Kline (MN-2)
Doug Lamborn (CO-5)
Leonard Lance (NJ-7)
Tom Latham (IA-3)
Robert Latta (OH-5)
Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2)
Dave Loebsack (IA-2)
Billy Long (MO-7)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9)
Cynthia Lummis (WY-AL)
Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Thomas Massie (KY-4)
Jim Matheson (UT-4)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY-4)
Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
Patrick Meehan (PA-7)
Gregory Meeks (NY-5)
Michael Michaud (ME-2)
Jeff Miller (FL-1)
Markwayne Mullin (OK-2)
Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)
Kristi Noem (SD-AL)
Devin Nunes (CA-22)
Alan Nunnelee (MS-1)
Pete Olson (TX-22)
Bill Owens (NY-21)
Steven Palazzo (MS-4)
Steve Pearce (NM-2)
Tom Petri (WI-6)

Joe Pitts (PA-16)
Ted Poe (TX-2)
Mike Pompeo (KS-4)
Bill Posey (FL-8)
Charles Rangel (NY-13)
Reid Ribble (WI-8)
Scott Rigell (VA-2)
Harold Rogers (KY-5)
Mike Rogers (AL-3)
Mike Rogers (MI-8)
Todd Rokita (IN-4)
Peter Roskam (IL-6)
Edward Royce (CA-39)
Jon Runyan (NJ-3)
Paul Ryan (WI-1)
Tim Ryan (OH-13)
John Sarbanes (MD-3)
Aaron Schock (IL-18)
Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)
David Schweikert (AZ-6)
Pete Sessions (TX-32)
John Shimkus (IL-15)
Mike Simpson (ID-2)
Adrian Smith (NE-3)
Christopher Smith (NJ-4)
Steve Stivers (OH-15)
Lee Terry (NE-2)
Glenn Thompson (PA-5)
Pat Tiberi (OH-12)
Mike Turner (OH-10)
Peter Visclosky (IN-1)
Ann Wagner (MO-2)
Tim Walberg (MI-7)
Greg Walden (OR-2)
Lynn Westmoreland (GA-3)
Joe Wilson (SC-2)
Rob Wittman (VA-1)
Steve Womack (AR-3)
Don Young (AK-AL)

The Local Radio Freedom Act's nine Senate cosponsors are (new co-sponsors in bold):

John Barrasso (R-WY)
Max Baucus (D-MT)
Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Martin Heinrich (D-NM)
Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

James Inhofe (R-OK)
Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

About NAB The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us