NAB Logo
June 7, 2010
Dennis Wharton
follow me

Charles Warfield to Receive National Radio Award

WASHINGTON -- Charles Warfield, president and chief operating officer of ICBC Broadcast Holdings, Inc., will receive the National Radio Award during the Radio Show Luncheon held Friday, October 1. The luncheon will take place during the 2010 Radio Show, held September 29 - October 1 in Washington, DC.

"NAB is proud to honor Charles Warfield as this year's recipient of the National Radio Award," said NAB Executive Vice President of Radio John David. "His entire career has been devoted to bettering the business that he loves and the communities that ICBC radio stations serve. Charles has been an exemplary leader and role model, and his dedication to ICBC, NAB, and the entire Radio profession make him an ideal choice for this noteworthy award."

Warfield has worked in Radio for over 32 years, managing some of America's most successful stations, and serving as President and COO of ICBC since July 2000.

Early in his career, Warfield spent 12 years at Inner City as vice president and general manager of WBLS-FM and WLIB-AM, where he was instrumental in the acquisition of five radio stations. Following that, Warfield became Summit Broadcasting Corporation's vice president and general manager of WRKS-FM, New York, one of the most popular radio stations in America.

In July 1997, Charles was appointed vice president and general manager of WDAS-AM/FM, Philadelphia. He was appointed senior vice president of urban regional operations for Chancellor Media Corporation in March 1998. Seven months later, he was promoted to senior vice president of regional operations with responsibility for Chancellor's 30 stations in Chicago, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Miami and Puerto Rico.

Warfield , the current NAB Radio Board chairman, also serves on the Radio Advertising Bureau Executive Committee. His community involvement includes the American Red Cross, The Urban League, The Salvation Army, United Negro College Fund, The Partnership for a Drug Free Greater New York, and The Harlem YMCA. Warfield holds a B.S. in accounting from Hampton University, where he graduated with honors.

Each year the National Radio Award honors an individual who is an outstanding leader in the radio industry. Previous National Radio Award recipients include Ed Christian, Bruce Reese, Jerry Lee, David Kennedy, John Dille, Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Bill Stakelin, and Erica Farber, among others.

About The Radio Show
The 2010 Radio Show, produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau (RAB) and the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), will be held September 29-October 1 in Washington, DC. This year's show brings radio broadcasters and industry colleagues together to share knowledge, discover the latest innovations, network with industry leaders and explore creative business strategies to help radio flourish in the digital age. To learn more about the 2010 Radio Show, visit

About RAB
The Radio Advertising Bureau serves more than 6,000 member Radio stations in the U.S. and over 1,000 member networks, representative firms, broadcast vendors, and international organizations. RAB leads and participates in educational, research, sales, and advocacy programs that promote and advance Radio as a primary advertising medium. Learn more at

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us