Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 28, 2025

The Honorable Brendan Carr Chairman Federal Communications Commission 45 L St. NE Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Carr:

We write to you today to encourage the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to modernize outdated ownership rules that hinder broadcasters nationwide.

Existing broadcast ownership regulations do not reflect today's competitive media landscape. These rules originated in the 1940s – before cable television became ubiquitous and long before the emergence of digital platforms that now dominate the media and entertainment industries. While the FCC has made incremental adjustments over the decades, the fundamental ownership restrictions have remained largely unchanged since the 1990s, imposing undue constraints on broadcasters' ability to innovate and invest in local content.

These regulations are a relic of an era when broadcasters were the only electronic media. Today, any one of the largest Big Tech platforms dwarfs the entire broadcast industry – yet they are held to no similar limitations on their reach. This imbalance places broadcasters at a severe disadvantage in competing for advertising dollars and audience engagement.

Across the political spectrum, Americans trust their local news more than any other source. Broadcasters play an indispensable role in holding government accountable, fostering civic engagement, and ensuring public safety awareness – often early on the scene in a crisis and last to leave. They do all this while restrictive ownership rules continue to deny them the ability to obtain the vital investment necessary to sustain and expand local coverage.

At a time when newspapers are battling to survive, broadcasters' local engagement is more important than ever. When broadcasters cannot combine or expand operations, they struggle to maintain sufficient newsroom staff and invest in journalism. This increasing lack of access to local information leaves communities vulnerable to misinformation from unverified sources on social media.

Reforming outdated ownership rules is essential to ensuring that broadcasters remain viable, competitive, and capable of fulfilling their essential role in American democracy. By modernizing these regulations, the FCC can empower broadcasters to better serve their

communities, promote local journalism, and compete in the modern media marketplace. Updating these rules is not just an urgent economic necessity, it is a public service imperative.

We appreciate your attention to this issue and urge the FCC to act swiftly in eliminating antiquated ownership restrictions and to embrace a broadcast regulatory framework that reflects the realities of today's dynamic media ecosystem.

Sincerely,

1 Halos

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Michael A. Rulli Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress

Sail I Bully Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber, Sr. Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawler Member of Congress

Steve Womack Member of Congress

and 2

Don Bacon Member of Congress

Bill Huizenga Member of Congress

Nathaniel Moran

Nathaniel Moran Member of Congress

Jay/Obernolte Member of Congress

Mak

Craig Goldman Member of Congress

l lalo

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Mike Ezell

Mike Ezell **/** Member of Congress

milalberg

Tim Walberg Member of Congress

Cliff Bentz

Member of Congress

Much h. Im

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Pat Harrigan Member of Congress

GIMMA_

Gabe Evans Member of Congress

Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

María Elvira Salazar Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

olu -

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

¥. Zhe

Ryan K. Zinke Member of Congress

scmar

Harriet M. Hageman Member of Congress

us 1

August Pfluger Member of Congress

dem

Troy Balderson Member of Congress

Mariannette J. Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

ood Mike Flood

Member of Congress

Tony Gonzales

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Rudy Yakym III Member of Congress

roleit B. Ader DOC 5

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

land

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Julie Federchak

Member of Congress

Bolden

Fared Golden Member of Congress

Noniz B. Amores

Mark E. Amodei Member of Congress

Jeff **Grank**

Jeff **Cra**nk Member of Congress

tephanie I. Bice

Stephanie Bice Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress

thomas P Ti

Tom Tiffany Member of Congress

Meal P

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

 μ (

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Brandon Gill Member of Congress

Morgan Vuttrell-Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

schang hunn

Zach Nunn ¹ Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Linick

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

m. Blink.

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Mark Harris Member of Congress

Addison P. McDowell Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Mark afore

Mark Alford Member of Congress

Bryan Steil Member of Congress

William R Timmons D

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Dem Stothmun

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Marry Kaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Michael K. Simpson

Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller

Member of Congress

C

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

ohn W Koze

John Rose Member of Congress

ulie Johnson

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

Znott

Member of Congress

Ishley Hinso

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

tansalarge, Dias

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress