Chuck Sherman Award

Thomas A. Oakley, 2007 Honoree, Chuck Sherman Award

Quincy Newspapers, Inc. president and CEO, Thomas A. Oakley, received the 2007 NAB Chuck Sherman Television Leadership Award.

Oakley is the fourth generation of his family to be actively involved in the ownership and operation of Quincy Newspapers Inc. In 1954 Oakley joined the company full time after graduating from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina. He held various broadcast and newspaper positions prior to being named president and CEO in 1969. At that time, QNI operated three properties: WGEM-TV, WGEM Radio and The Herald-Whig. Under Oakley's leadership the company grew and currently owns and operates 12 television stations, two radio stations, two newspapers and a video production company serving viewers, listeners and readers in 14 states.

Oakley has been an active member of industry groups in both broadcasting and newspaper businesses. He formerly served on the NAB Television Board of Directors and was chairman of the NAB First Amendment Committee in 1990-91. In 1989 and 1990, he served on the Television Bureau of Advertising Board of Directors as chairman and currently remains on the board as an ex-officio member. Oakley also served on the Telecommunications Committee, was a member of the Committee for Advanced Television Testing and was chairman of the Task Force on Newspaper and Broadcast Cross Ownership for the American Publishers Association.

In his more than 50 years of dedication and service to the broadcasting industry Oakley has received numerous awards from state, regional and local organizations in communities where QNI operates. He received the Vincent Wasilewski Award from the Illinois Broadcasters Association for a lifetime of Excellence in Broadcasting, holds honorary degrees from Quincy University and Culver-Stockton College in Canton Missouri, and has been honored with several awards in recognition of his philanthropic efforts and service on the boards of various Quincy organizations.

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2023 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us